About APAS

In 2005, the Access to the Future Act was passed by the Alberta government, calling for a common application system for Alberta’s publicly funded post-secondary institutions.  Twenty-one universities, colleges, and technical institutes collaborated with Alberta Advanced Education and Technology (now Alberta Advanced Education) to develop ApplyAlberta.

In July 2008, the Alberta Post-Secondary Application System was incorporated under the Societies Act of Alberta.  Membership was subsequently expanded to include the five Independent Academic Institutions in the province, bringing the number of participating institutions to 26. 

Today ApplyAlberta enables anyone to apply for undergraduate programs at one or more of these member institutions.